Inaugural Section Title for a School (any sport)

Through spring 2016

Year, School (Sport)

1960-61  Clairemont (Boys Gymnastics)

1960-61  Escondido (Football)

1960-61 Granite Hills (Boys Cross Country)

1960-61  Hoover (Boys Basketball)

1960-61  La Jolla (Boys Tennis)

1960-61  Lincoln (Boys Track)

1960-61  Mount Miguel (Football)

1960-61  Point Loma (Boys' Golf)

1960-61  San Dieguito High (Boys' Basketball)

1960-61  Vista (Boys Cross Country)

1961-62  Carlsbad (Football)

1961-62  Crawford (Football)

1961-62  Helix (Boys Cross Country)

1961-62  Mission Bay (Wrestling)

1961-62  Poway (Baseball)

1962-63  El Capitan (Boys Cross Country)

1962-63  Chula Vista (Wrestling)

1962-63  Coronado (Boys Swimming)

1962-63  San Diego (Boys Track)

1963-64  Kearny (Football)

1963-64  Oceanside (Football)

1963-64  Monte Vista (Boys Cross Country)

1963-64  Cathedral, as University of San Diego High (Boys' Basketball)

1964-65  No Schools

1965-66  El Cajon (Boys' Cross Country)

1965-66  La Jolla Country Day (Boys' Tennis)

1966-67  San Marcos (Football)

1966-67  Mater Dei, won the title as Marian (Boys Baskeball)

1966-67  San Diego Military (Baseball)

1967-68  Orange Glen (Football)

1967-68  Sweetwater (Boys Cross Country)

1968-69  Morse (Football)

1968-69  Castle Park (Football)

1969-70  Ramona (Boys Basketball)

1969-70  Santana (Baseball)

1969-70  Patrick Henry (Boys Gymnastics)

1970-71  St. Augustine (Football)

1971-72  Grossmont (Football)

1971-72  Julian (Football)

1971-72  Madison (Boys Golf)

1972-73  Army-Navy (Football)

1972-73  Fallbrook (Boys Water Polo)

1973-74  No Schools

Fall 1974 was the first season for girls teams in all varsity sports (Title IX)

1974-75  Bonita Vista (Girls Volleyball)

1974-75  Hilltop (Girls' Basketball)

1974-75  Francis Parker (Baseball)

1975-76  Christian (Football)

1975-76  Torrey Pines (Boys Golf)

1976-77  El Camino (Football)

1976-77  Mountain Empire (Football)

1976-77  San Pasqual (Girls Swimming)

1977-78  Mt. Carmel (Girls Cross Country)

1978-79  Serra (Boys Cross Country)

1978-79  Valhalla (Boys Water Polo)

1979-80  Southwest (San Diego ) (Boys Cross Country)

1980-81  Imperial (Football)

1980-81  Mar Vista (Boys Cross Country)

1981-82  Calipatria (Boys Basketball)

1981-82  Holtville (Baseball)

1982-83  Bishop’s (Baseball)

1983-84 University City (Boys Cross Country)

1983-84  Lutheran (Softball)

1984-85  Mira Mesa (Baseball)

1984-85  Santa Fe Christian (Softball)

1985-86  Victory Christian (Softball)

1986-87  No Schools

1987-88  Rancho Buena Vista (Girls Swimming)

1988-89  No Schools

1989-90  Calvin Christian (Boys Cross Country)

1989-90  Our Lady of Peace (Girls Basketball)

1990-91  No Schools

1991-92  Rancho Bernardo (Girls Swimming)

1992-93  No Schools

1993-94  Horizon (Football)

1993-94  Scripps Ranch (Boys Cross Country)

1994-95  Ocean View Christian, as Midway Baptist (Football)

1995-96  Eastlake (Girls Basketball)

1995-96  Montgomery (Boys Basketball)

1995-96  West Hills (Girls Volleyball)

1996-97  La Costa Canyon (Girls Soccer)

1997-98  No Schools

1998-99  Valley Center (Girls Cross Country)

1999-00  No Schools

2000-01  Brawley (Wrestling)

2001-02  Tri-City Christian (Girls Volleyball)

2001-02  Southwest (El Centro) (Girls Track)

2002-03  Westview (Softball)

2003-04  Steele Canyon (Boys' Basketball)

2004-05  Mission Hills (Softball)

2005-06  San Pasqual Academy (Football)

2006-07  Calvary (Vista) (Boys Cross Country)

2006-07  Foothills Christian (Boys Basketball)

2006-07  Otay Ranch (Boys Soccer)

2007-08  No Schools

2008-09  Canyon Crest Academy (Girls Basketball)

2008-09  Christian Life (Girls Basketball)

2009-10  No Schools

2010-11  Del Norte (Girls Cross Country)

2010-11  Pacific Ridge (Girls Cross Country)

2011-12  No Schools

Spring 2013 was the first season in which some playoff divisions were based on program strength, not enrollment

2012-13  San Ysidro (Baseball)

2013-14 was the first year in which most team sport playoff divisions were based on program strength, not enrollment

2013-14  Escondido Adventist (Girls Volleyball)

2013-14  Classical Academy (Girls Volleyball)

2013-14  Central Union (Girls Basketball)

2013-14  Del Lago Academy (Girls Basketball)

2013-14  Gompers (Boys Soccer)

2013-14  High Tech (Chula Vista) (Girls Soccer)

2013-14  Liberty Charter (Girls Basketball)

2013-14  Olympian (Baseball)

2013-14  San Dieguito Academy (Boys' Volleyball) (San Dieguito High closed and students moved to La Costa Canyon)

2014-15  Calexico (Girls Volleyball)

2014-15  Sage Creek (Girls Volleyball)

2014-15  Palo Verde Valley (Girls Basketball)

2014-15  Vincent Memorial (Boys Tennis)

2014-15  High Tech (San Diego) (Softball)

2015-16  Mission Vista (Boys Basketball)

2015-16  O'Farrell (Boys Basketball)